Violent Waves: O’Brother

“I urge you to please notice when you are happy, and exclaim or murmur or think at some point, ‘If this isn’t nice, I don’t know what is.'”

I had a late night conversation with a random person on a street corner in downtown Houston.  I had been having a rough night, and I escaped the closeness of people to make sure my mood did rub off on anyone around me.  As I sat, a guy approached and asked to sit too.  Normally I would say no, being that it was after midnight and I was in a strange city, but something about it seemed ok.  In the midst of feeling just absolutely miserable, I came to a conclusion that I’d been working on for awhile: I am happy.

You hear so many people talk about how awful life is; how they hurt, or how they never lived their dreams. How they’ve never had enough money or enough things.  How no one treats them right, they have no real friends, how they’re not sure where they’ll do when it ends.  You ask people how they’ve been, they mostly lie, and say fine.  It’s an epidemic.  But I realized, sitting on that street corner, that I was deep down, to my core, absolutely happy.

It’s funny that sometimes it can feel just right to get exactly what you want, and sometimes it can leave you drowning.  Maybe the key is to desire better things, and to recognize when they appear, instead of spending your time hoping for the next big thing.  Appreciation makes for a beautiful Wedding Ring.

_________________________

My time over the last month was spent with some of the best people traveling and doing the thing that makes me most happy in life.  If that’s not some sort of heaven, I don’t know what is.

O’Brother is first up.

Find them here: http://www.beneathyourgardenwindow.com/

https://twitter.com/obrothermusic

If you only hear one song: Lay Down

My favorite? Ascension

They also sell rad Dream Catchers.


Leave a Reply

