no one falls faster than me

Building your lenses
Digging your trenches
Put me on the front line
Leave me with a dumb mind
With no defenses
But your defense is
If you can’t stand to feel the pain then you are senseless

Since this,
I’ve grown up some
Different kinda fighter
And when the darkness come, let it inside you
Your darkness is shining
My darkness is shining
Have faith in myself
Truth.
-Alexander

I was writing earlier, walking down the beach, with my iPhone, listening to this… you know, like you do in this crazy techno – color multi-tasking world we live in today.. so I’m trying to get all poetic and junk, and my phone auto-corrected the word “stay” to “AT&T”.  Let me make something clear, phone, there is absolutely nothing romantic about AT&T, unless you enjoyed dropped calls and dropped hope. Psh.  Hahaha 🙂

My mind feels bi-polar lately… not in the crazy way, but more in the way the ocean makes waves.  I feel like everything in me is either rushing forward as fast as it can, or at full retreat, at all times.  I fully commit and then at the last second the tide changes, and with each rush and each retreat most stays the same, but I lose little pieces and gain others…. piece by piece the landscape of my life is changing, whether I like it or not.   Times like these you have to really hold onto the important things or else they’ll slip away……..

An overwhelming army running forward with abandon,
leaving behind anything that held them candid in exchange
for the safety of regimen.

The water retreats and above head a plane follows playfully,
before changing directions,
choosing land over sea.

The waves crash forward,
bringing delighted screams of happy people,
who in that moment let their problems wash off them
and turn gutsy.

The ebb again, sand clinging desperately to the solidity offered it on the beach,
but being pulled out anyway… It’ll remember to love floating freeing again eventually,
until then…

Back in, birds wildly giving chase to capture the oceans taste,
taking flight last second to avoid going for a swim.
Would that be giving out or giving in?

Just once, I wish it could stay,
piece by piece, you’re eroding away
your face losing shape,
my hips forgetting your sway.
Can’t you just stay?

Can you hear me over roaring of time’s opportunity?

You think you’ve fallen down the rabbit hole?
Well no one falls faster than me,
Let me let you know.

I took this set of photos and the ones that follow on a beautiful day in LA. It’s weird how a random person can become a friend in just a few short hours, but that’s what happened here, and I’m pretty proud of how these turned out.

One thought on “no one falls faster than me

Leave a Reply

