one last thing…

I had the honor of shooting engagements a few weeks back of the very dynamic and talented Heather and her soon-to-be husband, Aaron. I know I say it all the time, but I LOVE LOVE. And I love the we had Alicia, Tanner, and Beth along for the shoot…. anyone who has heard Alicia’s amazing laugh should just know that it combined with helium is nothing short of magic! Best of luck to this beautiful couple; thanks for letting me be a part of your love story 🙂

aaron&heather_20110930_2192

click here to see their photos:
Heather & Aaron.

and welcome back to my brain;

one last thing before I go…..
your phone is on airplane mode again,
Lover, do you think I don’t know?
Or notice that you’re only keeping hidden the life you live when you’re alone?

I wonder if they think you’re just caught up in your glamorous life,
busy covered in brightness and light,
clueless to my arms wrapped around you at night.
And I’m dying knowing that the tables turn
every time it’s my plane that takes flight.

Every time I’m far away and I lay awake
to a busy signal
or a phone call made too late;
I wonder if it’s another night
of airplane mode,
and if your arms are too busy wrapped around another,
to be bothered to pick up the phone.

one last thing before I go…..
i’m seeing you now for the first time in months.
the corners of your month upturn,
you haven’t been this happy in months.

there’s some sort of magnet
attached to your hand
and my waist;
and you hold on tight,
like there’s no time to waste.

but i watch you slowly,
sort back through your head,
buried between the views of my smile and laugh,
there’s some memory of her, you were sure was dead.
you pick it back up,
try it on for size,
“is there a reason for this rewind in my mind?”

I watch, and I know;
the best I can do to cling to every white rosebush,
attempt to grow; figure out and know;

Whose roots are deeper?

One thought on “one last thing…

  1. Reading and looking at your blog is such a pleasure. I love your writing, particularly “one last thing before I go…”

    Your words paint a beautiful picture, and though they are so personal to you, they are incredibly relatable. So thank you for sharing them with us.

Leave a Reply

