oh yeah, let’s do that.

whiskey at an airport bar.
the airplanes on the carpet make me anxious;
just like me,
they were made to fly….
but somehow ended up repeating a pattern,
stuck on someone else’s floor…
barely noticable as airplanes unless you take the time to look real close.

shouldn’t they be happy??
…it’s a very nice airport after all.
don’t be ungrateful,
they scream,
the feet as they walk over me.
LEARN YOUR PLACE!
…there’s a book that states,
underfoot is where you belong.

“but my wings…”
I yell,
“don’t They set me apart?
how can you you expect me to stay low
when my very makeup insists
flying is my art!”

they keep walking,
I fly on.
they’ll find someone else to walk on.

Finally! The rest of the photos from the AP tour I shot a few months back.  These are of August Burns Red, some of my very favorite touring musicians.  Mostly cause they are the very opposite of “typical band dudes.”  They are one of the first shows I ever shot, some 4 years ago, and I’m really grateful for the opportunity to keep shooting them as time goes on.  Check them out at http://www.myspace.com/augustburnsred.  Jake also has a ministry as well, look into that at http://www.yourlifeministries.com/

By the way, the in flight safety video on Continental/United airlines looks and sounds just like a Dharma initiative video… (ahem… not exactly the thoughts you want on an airplane.)  I was on the look out for smoke monsters and/or signs of time travel, but it was just a pretty normal flight.  Except they had orange juice.  I did a dance in my seat.  The guy next to me laughed.  It’s the small things in life.

So, here I am, out in California, trying to make something of myself.  I suddenly find myself without a steady income.  So needless to say, I’m becoming very, very good at, even embracing, being poor.  Without further ado, here is my living poor tip of the day:

LIVING POOR TIP OF THE DAY #1

Plan all bathroom trips while you’re out and about.  Especially if it’s a twosie.  And EXTRA especially if it’s a doosie twosie.  I know, I know, you’re weird about that, but that way, you’re not using your toilet paper.  Extra bonus points if it’s at an upscale department store or something that has the extra soft 3 ply stuff.  If you can get your roommates behind this, you can save, like, 20 dollars a month! Which is at least 40 bowls of ramen, or 20 bowls of cereal, or a cup of homemade coffee a day.  Or a tank of gas… if you’re not in California of course.  They think really highly of their gas here 😉

Thank me later.

 

One thought on “oh yeah, let’s do that.

Leave a Reply

