thinking thankful. thanking thinkful.

Last year, I formed my list of thanksgiving through photos.  This year, I’ve decided to do it through songs.  Music just speaks to me… and mostly, it speaks to me about the people I love.  So, each song listen below will represent a person, or thing, and will be followed by why I’m so thankful for them 🙂

PS: Each song is the song that reminds me of the person or thing most.  So if it’s supposed to be for you, you’ll know it 😉

SUPERSONIC : FAMILY FORCE 5
for being my cheerleader, always.
for sharing my eyes.
to infinity and beyond.

YOU PICKED ME : A FINE FRENZY
i’ll never forget you singing this song to an apple in my car somewhere in California.
my best friend,
arguably my soulmate 😉
thanks for teaching for to be practical,
but being crazy with me, too.

TIE THE ROPE : THE FORMAT
you played this song me the night I couldn’t do anything but fall down.
you told me i was worth more than what i was crying over.
you taught me to chase down adventure, even if it’s
running through the streets in the rain at 6 am.
and….. firelog?
i love you truly.

ON LEGENDARY : FURTHER SEEMS FOREVER
for teaching me what love looks like.
real love, the kind that isn’t fleeting or based on something physical.
for always saying the positive things about me,
even when the negatives are more obvious.

THE TRANSITION : HAWTHORNE HEIGHTS
thanks for showing me exactly what I don’t need in life.
you pointed it out so perfectly.
and i’ll always be grateful for that.

JUST THE GIRL : THE CLICK FIVE
I’ll never forget singing this at the top of our lungs in that big red truck.
you’ve the friend who always says what I need to hear,
even when it isn’t what I want.
and you where there that day a McDonalds ice cream cone led me on one of the craziest adventures of my life,
love you always.

LIKE A G6 : FAR EAST MOVEMENT
you are the picture of reliability.

THE ANSWER : BLUE OCTOBER
“understand that God wrapped you like a Bow.”
the person who gave me the gift of responsibility,
and always held my hair back when i needed it.
i love my keeper.

STARRY EYED : ELLIE GOULDING
twinz.
nuff said.

TAKE OVER CONTROL : AFROJACK
there’s no one in life who can keep up with me like you do.
my little dime piece,
my back-up when people are getting crazy.
thanks for making me laugh until my sides hurt.
feeding the bears is totally normal,
but let’s not be animal planet interviewees.

IN YOUR ATMOSPHERE : JOHN MAYER
for being the challenge i won’t ever beat.
for running as fast as i do.
for being the electric current that causes movement in me.

THE HOUSE THAT BUILT ME : MIRANDA LAMBERT
for being my family, always, no matter what.
for showing me what it means to be a great woman, and mother.
i hope i’m half as great with my kids some day.

BARRACUDA : HEART
I’ll never forget watching you get ready, singing this song into your brush in the mornings,
and wondering why I could never take the “loop” with you, cause my daycare was by the house.
it always looked like rollercoaster in my head.
thanks for always giving me the best you could.

DIVA : BEYONCE
everytime i hear this song all i can picture is us dancing and singing in falsetto so loudly.
always looking out for me.
even when i don’t like to hear it.

SHE WILL BE LOVED : MAROON 5
my little fish.
the best in the whole sea.
you’re the picture of what love should be.
the only good thing that came out of losing both my toenails was you.
haha 🙂

I got a text 2 days ago that said, “I’ll give thanks for you tomorrow.” It really struck me as such an honor, to be remembered and thought about. Don’t ever take the people around you for granted.

I’m halfway into my discounted mini-sessions! So far, all the subjects have been an absolute joy, and the Dewey family was no different. I’ve said it once and I’ll say it again, capturing relationships has got to be one of the coolest things there is! Here are a few from their session….

I’m just so thankful. Today and everyday.

Leave a Reply

