summer.

To say that it’s been an intense month would be an understatement.  I’ve hardly had time to sleep!  And I really, really love sleeping, so you can imagine how this has been affecting my mood 😉

The only thing I don’t love about my life is that it feels like I’m constantly saying goodbye… I mean, I know I could view it as always saying hello, but it just doesn’t feel that way right now.  All my friends are spread out from coast to coast and seeing them once every few months sucks.  Every time I drive away I feel like a part of me is staying behind, and it’s kinda hard to operate when you’re in pieces.  Chin up, though.  I’m so happy to have the friends that I do… they really are the best.  To prove this fact, and to ensure a smile everytime I open my computer, I made a background from random text conversations.  It’s lovely 🙂

So anyway, I recently got to shoot Vans Warped Tour, not once, but twice!! It was a ton of fun, and I got to see some of my favorite people ever.  Here are some shots from The All-American Rejects set.  All I have to say about it is, sometimes, you just need bubbles.  Right?

Last week I had the honor of leading a workshop at the Eminence Creative event in Albuquerque, put on by Veil Arms (http://www.veilarms.bigcartel.com/).  It was unreal!  So many kids and young adults there, and I had the best time getting to know them all and hanging out.  The other speakers were all super awesome too.  I’m hoping Veil Arms does another one of these soon… I think it’s a resource that could really help kids.  (Plus, I tried OCTOPUS.  What?!?!? True story.  It’s just as disgusting as you think it is, by the way.)

I got a letter from my sponsor child Emmanuel today.  For real, I think I get more out of it than he or his community does.  Check out Compassion if you’re interested in helping kids out and getting super cool letters and forming relationships.  I love feeling involved in a community that I may never have the opportunity to visit in person.  It’s not very much money and it makes a huge impact.

I had this daydream the other day… what if Facebook/Twitter/Tumblr ect. were hard wired directly to your brain, so rather than updating your status, it all did it automatically.  Like, exactly what you thought just showed up.  For example, like if you were super stoked about something, it was there.  Or in love.  Or if you thought super highly about someone, it just showed up on their wall.  Or vice versa I guess.  And if you had a question for someone about their life (even if it’s none of your business), it shows up to the RIGHT person’s inbox, instead of to whoever it is that you’ve decided to ask instead.  SO weird.  The story just kinda snowballed in my head.  I really enjoy daydreaming.

Has someone ever given you a play-by-play, that really felt like a blow-by-blow?  You know, you’re just begging to ask them to stop, but they lay it out like articles of clothing thrown out a second floor window, blowing away and strewn about.  It’s interesting how life can be that way sometimes.

Here are a few iPhone photos from my recent travels…. hope everyone is well!

Also: I’m now taking a limited amount of sessions of Christmas cards.  Please email me a imcolleenallison@gmail.com for more information or to book!

that sushi had deep fried green chilis in it.  for real.  SO good.

Leave a Reply

