the power of a name

I wonder if being the hero in your own story is a right or a privilege.  Is it by default, because you see everything through your filter, that you are the one who deserves a happy ending?  Or is it something that you have to earn, by being an overall good person, loving people, being selfless, you know, all those things real heroes do?  I’m not sure anymore.  I’d like to be the hero in my story, the protagonist, if you will.  I’d like to think that at the end of my book I skip off into the sunset knowing that things worked out in the end.  But what if it it doesn’t work that way?  Not everyone can be the hero. I wonder if I’m the villain in someone else’s fairy tale.

I’ve been thinking lately about the power of names.  Given names have a tendency of reflecting the person…. my name, for example, “Colleen” means little girl.  Anyone who knows me knows that I spend the majority of my time viewing the world through the eyes of an 8 year old.  I get stupidly excited over the smallest things.  I still believe people mean what they say, even though I’ve seen the opposite proved over and over.  It’s interesting.  There’s so much power in what you call something.  The difference in how you view your ‘friend’ and your ‘best friend’.  The point in a relationship when you move from calling the other person by their given name, and start with nicknames.  Adding ‘love’ or ‘babe’ to the end of a sentence.  It’s all so telling of how you really regard a person.  That fascinating to me.

I shot a wedding in the pouring rain yesterday… my first rainy outdoor wedding ever.  It was absolutely beautiful… the greens in the plant-life were so bright  with rejuvenation, it was breathtaking.  And these are pictures of the bride, who made all the beauty of the location fade as soon as she walked into the area.  She is absolutely stunning.  I’m working on editing wedding photos…. I took over 4000 photos, which should indicate just how much I love this couple.  I really wish them the best.

I got to play soccer today… It felt amazing.  I miss waking up and playing all day.  I’ve had a smile on my face all day…. and it’s not just from the soccer playing.  Now, I’m wiped, and I’m waking up early tomorrow to drive to Birmingham!  Can’t wait to see my friends and drive in the South for the first time….. My life is poetry.

Leave a Reply

