SXSW Part One

Last week, I had the awesome opportunity to head to South By Southwest in Austin with my friend Monkeybird.  I had been to SXSW one other time, but only for one day and only for one show.  This was a whole different experience.  People literally everywhere.  I don’t think Monkey and I went to bed before 4 am the whole time we were there.  One night, what started out as a nice, 5 am stroll back to the RV ended in Monkeybird and I sprinting through downtown Austin in the pouring rain, laughing and trying not to fall or startle any of the sleeping bums that were gathered under overhangs.  It felt straight out of a movie.  I met a lot of great new people, and was able to take tons of photos.  These are from Circa Survive’s sets.  I had never actually sat and listened to a Circa song before, so this was my first time to really hear the music.  Their set was unbelievable.  At one point Anthony climbed onto the ceiling, crawled out over the crowd, and just dropped into the middle of all the madness.  The crowd was like crazed gazelles, and people kept screaming how in love they were with the band.  It was pretty intense.  Personally, I enjoyed the energy.  It’s interesting how that sort of thing effects you, even if it’s not directed at you.  It’s so easy to get caught up in the crowd’s frenzied desperation…. Half the time it induces extreme anxiety in me, and the other half, euphoria.  50-50 chance; elation or misery.  Story of my life.

I was thinking today about social networking.  I’m spending a few days up in Ruidoso to take some photos and get away… so I’ve decided to unplug for a bit.  I don’t get very good cell service anyway.  So, for the next few days I will be unreachable, except by email.  And only then if you really need me 🙂  It’s important to step back from time to time.  I think we all get a little numb to how our words effect people, even if it just over the internet.  Annoyance is inevitable, but rather than posting on your facebook/twitter a directed, snide comment about how “someone” is annoying you, or how it makes you laugh when people do whatever random activity, why not just decide to love them anyway?  And is it just me, or does it always seem like those statuses may be about you, but you aren’t sure, and then you just sit and try to figure out if there’s anyway you could of offended someone.  It makes me less confident in those friendships, even if I know for a fact it’s not directed at me.  Although, I’m sure I’ve annoyed a thousand people, but my heart has never been changed by a Facebook status.  I don’t think you’re getting a point across, and more than that, I think it shows a lot about character that you would choose such a public forum for ridicule.  I’m not saying I’m not guilty of posting an annoyed status.  I am, trust me.  I just think maybe positivity is the way to go in these circumstances.  But what do I know?  Not much 😉  And just for the record, this paragraph is not directed at anyone but myself.  They’re observations and the word “you” is only used for ease.  I’m not thinking of any particular person as I type this.

The moon was out of control tonight, like a giant flashlight.  If I had a telescope, it would of been perfect.  White sands stays open late during full moons.  I’ve never been during the night, but I bet the light distribution is captivating.  It’s on my list of things to do.

One of my absolute favorite places to read is located here.  It’s called Atticus Tea House (even named after a character in my favorite book!!!).  They sell new and used books and make a proper tea (with lemon curd and cream and brown sugar cubes and scones…. Mmmmm, focus, Cols, focus!)  and they have all these couches arranged everywhere.  It’s beautiful.  Can’t wait to spend some time there tomorrow.  I’m going to finish up the Percy Jackson series, and look for a detailed book on the life of King David.  Does anyone have any recommendations for a good one?  Or actually, any good book recommendations at all… always looking for something new.

2 thoughts on “SXSW Part One

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention SXSW Part One « Capture! Studios/Colleen Allison -- Topsy.com

  2. Colleen, how I love you so. If you come to dallas more we can dedicate days to book reading/scouring and tea sipping.. Thinking of that is already making me smile! & Not much makes me smile these days. Also, I love the circa pictures.. Fucking awesome.. And again, I love you a lot.. See you super soon.

    / monkeybird

Leave a Reply

