We try so hard to mimick a real green.

I have the coolest back-up system.  I know that sounds like a weird thing to say, but really.  My back-up drive is called Proginoskes (From Madeleine L’Engle’s Time Quintet… read it.  amazing.) and it holds every session I’ve done since I started taking photos.  It’s also mirrored so losing data is near impossible.  All of that to say, as I was archiving past sessions today, I found raw files from one of the first shows I ever shot: needtobreathe.  This was a local show and I had just started out…. but I never got around to edit them.  Soooo….. I decided to today.

I was driving home the other day, past the most beautiful, lush green field.  I almost got lost in how rich the color was.  Right in front of it, was a green location sign.  This green, our feeble attempt at copying, looked so fake.. so boring, compared to the earth.  It’s crazy to me that with all of our technology and blah blah blah, we are so quick to destroy the natural in favor of our fake monuments, and yet, we don’t even come close.  I think it’s time to back up and let the mountains and the fields and the flowers speak for themselves.  I don’t think they need signs.

So I can do this really cool thing called lucid dreaming…. which basically just means that I know in my dream that I’m dreaming and then have the ability to turn it into anything I want.  Really. Anything.  The other night, I fell asleep and found myself on an island.  The wind was blowing and I realized I was dreaming, so I decided to fly.  It was seriously the coolest  feeling I’ve ever felt.  I can’t explain what it feels like to literally have the ability to do WHATEVER you want.  No obstacles, no worries.  Just doing.  It felt kind of like being on a rollercoaster, flying so high and then diving down into the ocean… and then deciding that I can breathe underwater, too, and just going with it.  Bubbles and all.  Perfect.  I didn’t want to leave that place.

Then there are the dreams that happen and I can’t do anything about.  Last night, I had a dream that these huge snowflakes were falling from the sky, and when I ran out to see them, I saw that they were actually large paper cutouts.  They each had phrases or lyrics from meaningful conversations I’ve had recently, except every other word was cut out.  I couldn’t make out complete thoughts so instead I just sat in the street as all these sentiments fell from the sky, but I could make no sense of it all.

My calender is going crazy lately!! I’m so excited for things coming up recently… last week I got to shoot The Red Chord and mychildren, mybride, tomorrow I have an engagement session, Thursday I have a runway show, Friday I’m shooting The City Lives in Oklahoma City, and then I’m headed down to Houston for two weeks.  Speaking of that, if you are in the Houston area and would like to book a session, I’m taking a total of 5 while I’m in town.  Email me at imcolleenallison@gmail.com for more information.

I’m random.  I think about you all the time.


Leave a Reply

