The Magic of Video

One thing that I distinctly remember from middle school is watching home videos of my friends at almost every sleepover I went to.  The parents would get this proud look in their eyes and say something like, “You were such a great/funny/contemplative/serious/happy kid!  Watch this video where……”  I remember these stories like they’re my own.  Jayme crying and throwing a fit because her toy broke, and her dad saying, “It’s ok, we’ll buy you a new one” and her little face completely changing from total meltdown back to happy.  “Ok!”

I don’t remember any stories like this from my childhood, and there aren’t any videos from my childhood.  I think this lack of “footage” is what has spawned my love for videos… I got a little Kodak video camera last summer and I use it to record just about every little mundane event in my life.  I want to remember everything, and I want to be able to watch the videos in 10 years and wonder what the heck I was thinking.  So, with all this in mind, what’s your favorite home video of your childhood?  Come on, I know most of you have one!  And for my contribution,  a short video of my darling nephew, Ryan.  Jayme and Daniel helped us remodel our house, and Ryan was the constant source of laughter as he made his way through the house checking up on things.  I had a certain cabinet where I kept all the cookies, and he knew it, and so he’d always come into the kitchen and proclaim (with arms wide open…) “Cookies!”  Now, that’s what he calls me, no matter how many times I ask him to say, “Coco”  🙂

Precious Ryan! from Colleen Hill on Vimeo.

One thought on “The Magic of Video

  1. This made me want to cry, I am quite emotional right now, but you are precious and blessing to everyone in your life! Miss you.

Leave a Reply

