Things I learn from my dogs, Part 1

I don’t know if any of y’all have dogs, but man, they are really, really important to my life.  I think the Lord uses them to teach us lessons that are not easily seen other ways.  Thomas and I have two dogs, Czech and Scout.  Thomas bought Czech for me from a breeder as an engagement gift.  I had wanted a Westie for years, but never had the stability to own one.  She is the epitome of a little princess.  Scout was an “accident”, you could say.  We were dropping off something for a friend and found two dogs wandering in 104 degree weather.  We looked for an owner and found no one, so we decided to take them home and out of the heat until we could look further.  Two weeks later, no luck.  So we found a family to adopt one, and kept the other.  She got her name from my favorite book character and Thomas’ favorite amp 🙂

There’s the background story.  On to the most recent lesson learned from our precious dogs…..

As I said earlier, Czech is a princess.  She responds to us the way I think most of us respond to the Lord.  She’s moody and independent, and has to make sure we know she doesn’t need us.  That’s not to say she doesn’t love us.  Sometimes she wants to cuddle and be close and can’t get enough of us.  But she always goes back to this sort of rebellion.  This kind of, exactly, describes me.  I’m independent and moody and sometimes I’m completely content resting in the palm of His hand, but mostly, I’m a bratty child who thinks I can do it on my own.

Scout is COMPLETELY opposite.  She’s desperate, and needy, and will do anything to be close to you.  She’s only happy when her snout is tucked firmly in someone’s hand or if she’s got her tennis ball in her mouth.  This dog is the definition of desperation.  THIS is how I want to relate to the Lord.  I want to be able to only get happiness from being in His will, and I want to be desperate for that to happen.

Psalm 142:6
Listen to my cry, for I am in desperate need; rescue me from those who pursue me, for they are too strong for me.

Aren’t we always in need?  Even in the best of days, without pursuing the will of God, our compass can easily turn south.

This is the kicker though.  Even in Czech’s independence and Scout’s desperation, I don’t love one more than the other.  Mostly I’m just trilled to know they’ve chosen to love me.

I recently watched the movie, “Up!”… I loved it!  There is a character named Dug who I’d like to think my dogs sound like in their inner dialogue.  I’ll leave you with a few Dug lines, and some photos of my sweet puppies.

Dug: My name is Dug. I have just met you, and I love you.

Dug: Oh! A Ball! Oh, boy! Oh, boy! A Ball!
[whines]
Carl Fredricksen: Ball?
[chuckles]
Carl Fredricksen: You want it, boy?
Dug: Oh! Oh! Oh! Oh!
Carl Fredricksen: Huh? Huh?
Dug: Yes, I do! I so ever do want the ball!
Carl Fredricksen: Go get it!
[throws the ball]
Dug: Oh, boy! Oh, boy! I will go get it and then bring it back!
[runs off]

and finally…. and quite possibly my favorite (not because I dislike squirrels, but because my dogs hate them…)

Dug: Hey, I know a joke! A squirrel walks up to a tree and says, “I forgot to store acorns for the winter and now I am dead.” Ha! It is funny because the squirrel gets dead.

Czech

The Girls

Scout

Leave a Reply

